Thanksgiving: 3 Things I Want My Grandchildren To Know

Madison's first Thanksgiving Back Row...Case, son-in-law, Me, Doug, my husband Front Row...Paige (holding Madison) and Kelsey
Madison’s first Thanksgiving
Back Row…Case, son-in-law, Me, Doug, my husband
Front Row…Paige (holding Madison) and Kelsey

Grandchildren are one of the most amazing blessings that you will ever receive.  I am very blessed to live near my grandchildren.  I now have three grandchildren. They accept me for who I am and are thrilled by the smallest things: shadows and hide and seek.  I want them to know these 3 things about Thanksgiving:

History

The story of the first Thanksgiving originated in 1621. The Pilgrims suffered many hardships that year and the Wampanoag people befriended the Pilgrims. The Pilgrims and Wampanoag people set aside a day to thank God for their blessings. President Abraham Lincoln declared the last Thursday in November as a National Day of Thanksgiving over 200 years ago.  It wasn’t until 1941 that Congress finally made Thanksgiving Day an official national holiday.

Facts and Traditions

Thanksgiving is the only American holiday that is not overshadowed by lights, costumes, gifts, decorations,and possessions. The typical menu includes turkey, dressing/stuffing, potatoes, cranberry sauce and pumpkin pie.  Some people call it ‘Turkey Day’. Thanksgiving is about family, togetherness, kindness, good will, gratitude and giving.

God

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays because it is about God, family, friends and gratitude.  The Pilgrims and Wampanoag people sat down for the first meal for the purpose of giving thanks to God, just pure gratitude.  The word ‘thanksgiving’ is mentioned 30+ times in the Bible.  One of may favorite verses is…

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Philippians 4:6 (NIV)

That means…we need to thank God more and worry less. Just ask God for what you need. Talk to him like he is right beside you. (my interpretation)

I want my grandchildren to know that every day can be filled with thankfulness and gratitude.  Every day, we need to have a kind word for another person and look for opportunities to bless others.  Thanksgiving is not confined to one day but it is a state of mind.

I invite you to follow me on Facebook @ http://www.facebook.com/laurasjourneyofhope

Happy Thanksgiving and Be Blessed.

Leave a Reply

