Good News…At Last

Back To Work

After a week in the hospital and more rest than I had in years, I was back at work on Tuesday, March 17, 2009.  I wanted my next chemo treatment that week but Dr. Wonderful (Hematologist-Oncologist) made me wait until the following week.  By the time Monday, March 23, 2009 arrived, I was ready to get started with the next four treatments.  I still followed the same routine to schedule my appointment late in the day, shower and listen to my praise and worship music. Doug’s mom, Sharon, drove me because I would be given Benadryl with the Taxol chemo. I didn’t know what else to expect from this new chemo: Taxol (Paclitaxel) and Herceptin.

Visit With Dr. Wonderful

Dr. Wonderful was glad to see me doing well. It was during this visit that she told me that she always suspected that my port was infected and she was very thankful we didn’t use the port or else I would have gotten the infection in my blood.  She went on to tell me that I was BRCA negative and that was HUGE news. Therefore, I did not carry or pass the breast cancer gene to my girls.  That was a positive!  My white cell counts were good and I no longer needed the Neupogen shots. YAY! I was thrilled.  After she examined me, she had more good news.  The large tumor in the right axilla (underarm) was probably about half of the original size and the tumor in the right breast was shrinking as well.  From now on, I would need to come to the Chemo Lab weekly.  One week I would receive Taxol and Herceptin and on alternating weeks I would receive only Herceptin and I could drive myself to those appointments. YES!!

Chemo Lab

After the great visit with Dr. Wonderful, I was ready to get this treatment underway. Taxol and Herceptin would take about an hour and a half.  Sometimes Doug’s mom would go to get us a McDonald’s cheeseburgers to eat before the Benadryl kicked in.  Plus, it helped pass the time for her. I would have to update my notebook quickly because the Benadryl would make me go right to sleep so the time passed quickly for me.  We came home and everything was normal. I thought…this one was going to be much easier.  I got up and got dressed for work the next day, Tuesday and Wednesday.  Both of those days were normal work days.  So, I went to work Thursday and that’s when it hit me.  I started to ache/hurt all over around 11 AM and Doug came and picked me up about two hours later.  I went home and went to bed.  I remember my motto…If I was hurting, then the chemo was working.  I tried to find a positive in the journey.

my favorite wig
my favorite wig

Leave a Reply

