Why Share My Story Now?

5 year breast cancer survivor
5 year breast cancer survivor

When you receive a diagnosis of cancer, your life changes forever.  From that point on, you are known as the one who has cancer.  Some people deal with it by talking to everyone about every detail.  That just wasn’t me.

I remember sitting in my office telling the principal and the principal’s secretary that my chemo, in all reality, would last 15 months.  For the next 15 months of my life, I would have to go to the cancer center and receive various forms of chemo through my port. I fell apart. I just sat there and sobbed. I know my health was more important than my job but I loved my job.  I loved working with teachers and seeing the students everyday.

My way of updating the staff and friends at other schools was to designate my precious friend Gale to send updates to keep everyone informed of my progress. My dear friend Moe kept the assistant principals updated.  I prayed, spoke as if I was already healed and immersed myself in worship. I am a woman of faith and I put my trust in God to bring about His divine will.

It took years for me to be able to talk about my diagnosis and progress without tearing up.  I eventually became the principal at my own school.  I began to share my story with those who needed words of encouragement. Inner healing began to take place every time I reached out to help others,  Now, I can passionately tell my story and in doing so I become stronger.  In reflection, maybe some of my hesitancy was because I was given a 56% chance to live 5 years.

Now, I am ready to share my story and help others. One of my favorite verses is: 1 Timothy 4:16 (Living Bible) “Keep a close watch on all you do and think.  Stay true to what is right and God will use you to help others.”

I think it is important for everyone to know that the journey is different for everybody and we need to respect personal boundaries.

Many Blessings to you,

Laura

Leave a Reply

